The Fall 2019 Semester of Truth School Classes!

Sat Jan 11, 9:30 AM - Sat Jun 20, 1:30 PM (EST)

As women of color leaders, the pressures we face are enormous. Every day we are called upon to support and sustain our communities and mobilize resources to achieve social change. We experience high levels of stress and burnout as we devote many hours to the causes we care about and the communities we seek to empower. Additionally, our leadership is challenged by stereotypes and assumptions related to our race, ethnicity, sexual orientation, gender, gender identity, class, age, etc. In this current political climate, our communities are under assault even more, and we must find ways to assert our rights, our lives, our voices, our dignity, and humanity.

Sat Feb 1, 2:00 - 4:00 PM (EST)

Arise for Social Justice, 38 School Street, Springfield, MA

Writing for Social Change

Thu Feb 6, 5:00 PM - Thu Feb 20, 8:00 PM (EST)

Unpacking the Man Box: Cross-Gender Dialogue About Masculinity and Movement Building

Sat Feb 8, 1:00 - 2:30 PM (EST)

Treehouse Community Center, 1 Treehouse Circle, Easthampton, MA

Shake it Off: A Movement Workshop for Tired Activists

Sat Feb 8, 4:00 - 5:30 PM (EST)

40 Center Street, 40 Center Street, Northampton, MA

Resting to Rise: A Daring to Rest Community Nap

Sat Feb 15, 1:00 - 3:30 PM (EST)

South Congregational Church, Great Space, 45 Maple Street, Springfield, MA

BE YOUty & Empowerment

Sat Feb 22, 1:00 - 4:00 PM (EST)

170 Main Street, 170 Main Street, Greenfield, MA

Invocation to Martin Luther King, Jr.: Contemplating the Heart of the Matter

Sun Feb 23, 1:00 - 4:00 PM (EST)

Flywheel Arts Collective, 43 Main Street, Easthampton, MA

Food Justice and Democracy

Mon Feb 24, 5:00 - 6:30 PM (EST)

Nueva Esperanza, 401 Main Street, Holyoke, MA

Songs for Social Justice Movements

Thu Feb 27, 6:30 - 8:30 PM (EST)

Lathrop Community, 1 Shallowbrook Lane, Northampton, MA

Sacred Music: A Journey to Freedom

Sat Feb 29, 1:00 PM - Sat May 2, 2:00 PM (EST)

Unitarian Society of Northampton and Florence, 220 Main Street, Northampton, MA

Colored Conventions in the 21st Century: Recovering the Black Protest Tradition

Sat Feb 29, 3:00 PM - Sat Mar 7, 5:00 PM (EST)

Unitarian Society of Northampton and Florence, 220 Main Street, Northampton, MA

The Life of the Prophet Muhammad

Tue Mar 3, 4:00 - 6:00 PM (EST)

Dawnland screening, discussion, and workshop

Dawnland is an Emmy‐award winning documentary, created by the Upstander Project, that tells the story of the forced removal of Native American children from their homes, and the first official U.S. Truth and Reconciliation Commission formed in response. A screening of the movie on Tuesday, March 3 will be followed by a brief panel discussion. Opportunities to deepen your understanding will continue on Wednesday, March 4 with a conversation about movements for Indigenous Cultural Survival, and on Sunday, March 8 with a workshop for educators and community leaders. Participants may attend any or all of the classes.

Wed Mar 4, 5:30 - 7:30 PM (EST)

Intergenerational Trauma in Indigenous Communities and Movements for Indigenous Cultural Survival

Thu Mar 5, 6:30 - 8:00 PM (EST)

South Congregational Church, Great Space, 45 Maple Street, Springfield, MA

Powerfully Peaceful

Sat Mar 7, 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM (EST)

Holyoke Community College, The Kittredge Center, Room 303, 303 Homestead Avenue, Holyoke, MA

ACT: Treasure Both the Minds and Hearts of Students

Sun Mar 8, 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM (EDT)

Smith College, Helen Hills Hills Chapel, 123 Elm Street, Northampton, MA

Educator and Community Leader Workshop: What is the Relationship Between the Taking of the Land and the Taking of the Children?

Thu Mar 12, 6:00 - 8:00 PM (EDT)

Arise for Social Justice, 38 School Street, Springfield, MA

Preparing to Run for Office: A Workshop for Potential Candidates and Their Support Teams

Fri Mar 13, 5:30 - 7:00 PM (EDT)

Community Music School of Springfield - Room 201, 127 State Street, Springfield, MA

Who is Hip Hop? I am Hip Hop!

Sat Mar 14, 9:30 AM - 12:30 PM (EDT)

170 Main Street, 170 Main Street, Greenfield, MA

Leading Volunteers? Resist Doing ALL of the Work!

Sun Mar 15, 1:00 - 3:00 PM (EDT)

Massachusetts Green High Performance Computing Center, 100 Bigelow Street, Holyoke, MA

Circle Practice 2.0

Sat Mar 21, 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM (EDT)

Easthampton Council on Aging (the old Post Office), 19 Union Street, Easthampton, MA

Disability 101

Sun Mar 22, 1:00 - 4:00 PM (EDT)

170 Main Street, 170 Main Street, Greenfield, MA

The Art of Deliberate Inclusion: Building the World that We Want

Wed Mar 25, 6:30 - 8:00 PM (EDT)

Community Music School of Springfield - Room 201, 127 State Street, Springfield, MA

The Art of Songwriting, Recording and Performing

Thu Mar 26, 6:00 - 8:00 PM (EDT)

Arise for Social Justice, 38 School Street, Springfield, MA

Poetry: How Pain Becomes Beautiful Power

Sat Mar 28, 1:00 - 3:00 PM (EDT)

Flywheel Arts Collective, 43 Main Street, Easthampton, MA

Energize, Mobilize, and Empower: An Organizing Meeting for Young Activists

Sat Mar 28, 3:00 - 6:00 PM (EDT)

South Congregational Church, Great Space, 45 Maple Street, Springfield, MA

Making Science Work for Social Justice

Sat Apr 4, 11:00 AM - Sat Apr 11, 1:00 PM (EDT)

South Congregational Church, Great Space, 45 Maple Street, Springfield, MA

Where Do We Go From Here: Voices of Resilience Virtual Exhibit Tour and Workshop to Explore the Legacy of Martin Luther King, Jr.

Thu Apr 16, 5:00 - 6:30 PM (EDT)

First Churches - Lyman Hall, 129 Main Street, Northampton, MA

Songs for Social Justice Movements

Sat Apr 18, 1:00 - 4:00 PM (EDT)

40 Center Street, 40 Center Street, Northampton, MA

Claudia Rankine Speaking in Poetry

Sun Apr 19, 1:00 - 4:00 PM (EDT)

Flywheel Arts Collective, 43 Main Street, Easthampton, MA

Everyone Welcome: Intercultural Competency in the Workplace

Wed Apr 22, 6:00 - 8:00 PM (EDT)

Second Congregational Church, UCC, 16 Court Square, Greenfield, MA

Earth Day Circle Practice: The Climate Emergency and Our Love of the Land

Sat Apr 25, 10:00 AM - 1:00 PM (EDT)

Sojourner Truth Memorial Committee, corner of Park and Pine Streets, Florence, MA

Take a Walk in Sojourner Truth’s Shoes

Sun Apr 26, 3:00 - 5:00 PM (EDT)

The Churches at Island Pond (Bethesda Lutheran Church), 455 Island Pond Road, Springfield, MA

Immigrant Stories of Challenge and Success in U.S. Culture

Sat May 2, 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM (EDT)

Treehouse Community Center, 1 Treehouse Circle, Easthampton, MA

Cultural Humility and Cross Cultural Communication: Bridging the Divide - Part 1

Sun May 3, 1:00 - 3:00 PM (EDT)

Second Congregational Church, UCC, 16 Court Square, Greenfield, MA

Public Speaking for the Terrified

Sat May 9, 1:00 - 5:00 PM (EDT)

United Church of Christ Holyoke, 300 Appleton Street, Holyoke, MA

Reparations: What’s It All About?

Sat May 16, 12:00 - 3:00 PM (EDT)

Massachusetts Green High Performance Computing Center, 100 Bigelow Street, Holyoke, MA

Election in Sight: A Structured Dialogue

Thu May 21, 5:00 - 6:30 PM (EDT)

Nueva Esperanza, 401 Main Street, Holyoke, MA

Songs for Social Justice Movements

Fri May 29, 6:30 - 8:30 PM (EDT)

St. Philip's Episcopal Church - Sanctuary, 128 Main Street, Easthampton, MA

Sacred Music: A Journey to Freedom

Sat May 30, 10:00 AM - 1:00 PM (EDT)

Easthampton Council on Aging (the old Post Office), 19 Union Street, Easthampton, MA

Understanding the Americans With Disabilities Act

Sun May 31, 12:00 - 4:00 PM (EDT)

Treehouse Community Center, 1 Treehouse Circle, Easthampton, MA

Cultural Humility and Cross Cultural Communication: Bridging the Divide – Part 2